

East Harbour Energy Ltd PO Box 11-595 Wellington 6142, New Zealand Tel: 64-274-771 009

Fax: 64-4-385 3397

E-mail: brian.white@eastharb.co.nz www.nzgeothermal.org.nz

# **Newsletter January 2010**

Hi Everyone,

This is just a brief newsletter/AGM update to close off 2009 and open 2010.

#### The New Board

The AGM in November was attended by approximately 40 members and the elections took place smoothly:

- Spence McClintock (Mighty River Power) took over from Colin Harvey (GNS Science) as our President.
- Gina Rangi (Tuaropaki Power) took over from Judith Magyari (Magyari and Associates) as Secretary,
- Marcel Manders (MB Century) took over as Treasurer from Pat Brown (Strettons/Tuaropaki Power Company).

Colin Harvey stepped down from 6 years as President but remains on the Board in the role of Past President and in an IGA liaison role.

The other Board members are now:

- Brian Carey (GNS Science)
- Chris Mann (Mechanical Technology)
- Cito Gazo (Coal Research and Energy Federation)
- Claude Bannwarth (PB Power)
- John Burnell (Industrial Research)
- Juliet Newson (University of Auckland)
- Paul Bixley (Contact Energy)
- Paul Quinlivan (Sinclair Knight Merz)
- Peter Barnett (Hot Rocks)
- Phil Hutchings (Independent)
- Tricia Scott (NZ Environmental/Top Energy)

Jim Lawless (SKM) gave up his Past President role to Colin Harvey but continues on the Board until the IGA elections in a liaison role.

Bridget Robson (Environment Bay of Plenty) and Katherine Luketina (Environment Waikato) continue in "Observer" roles.

We would like to thank all those who have recently completed service on the NZGA Board. These people include Greg Raasch, Judith Magyari, and Pat Brown.

# The Business Plan

At the AGM there was some discussion on the number of hours required to run the Executive Officer role (plus some administration support), given the increased membership and the increased growth in geothermal nationally. The workload has roughly doubled since we first engaged an Executive Officer in 2004. The 2004 contract has never been re-negotiated but this is now high on the list of priorities for the new Board.

The view of the meeting was that Executive Officer role is critical to our operations and the contract should be renegotiated at an appropriate level. It was decided that individual subscriptions should increase (they have been set at \$50 for the past 5 years) and that we should seek stronger support from our Sponsors.

Also within the Business Plan was the idea of mapping all Corporate/Institutional members and all sponsors onto a new tiered Corporate/Institutional membership structure. This was essentially approved with the AGM's acceptance of the Business Plan. Final details of the new tiered arrangement will be sorted by the Board in the near term. The challenge for NZGA will be to essentially double revenue from sponsorship and Corporate/Institutional membership to sustain current operations.

The NZGA Board has subsequently approved a new subscription rate of \$100 per year (including GST) and has approved a 3-tier Corporate/Institutional membership structure at Gold, Silver and Bronze rates of \$11,000, \$7,000 and \$1,500 (plus GST). The Executive Officer will be approaching current Corporate/Institutional members and sponsors to discuss these changes.

#### **IGA Board Nominations**

The NZGA was asked to make recommendations for nominees to the IGA Board. Currently Jim Lawless and Colin Harvey are on the IGA board but Jim now has to stand down (after 6 years in the role). Colin's re-nomination is automatic but we can also nominate 2 others (because of our increased membership numbers). We received 5 strong nominees.

- Hamish Brookie
- Judith Magvari
- Juliet Newson
- Paul Hoskin
- Paul Quinlivan

The NZGA Board has voted to select Juliet Newson and Paul Quinlivan as the NZGA endorsed candidates for the IGA, and we have advised the IGA of these nominations. Once again we would like to thank all who have made themselves available. However, any NZGA member can also nominate themselves providing that they are supported by 30 signatures from current NZGA or other IGA members. The deadline for the individual nominations is March 2010.

All nominees are then put into an electronic ballot to IGA members worldwide.

## **IEA Update**

Spence, Brian and Colin gave a presentation to an IEA review panel that is assessing adequacy of New Zealand energy policy in early December in Wellington.

## **World Geothermal Congress 2010**

This is just a reminder that the World Geothermal Congress 2010 in Bali is coming up at the end of April. For more details see <a href="http://www.wgc2010.org/">http://www.wgc2010.org/</a>. This is the premier international geothermal event for the next 5 years. This is also where the official announcement will be made that the next WGC 2015 will be a joint Australia New Zealand event.

## **Final Words**

On behalf of the Board we thank all the members for their contributions and support in 2009, and look forward to a successful 2010.

Brian White Executive Officer

Spence McClintock President Colin Harvey Past President